Korean Community

Korean Community

Artist: Risus Quartet
Title: Four Seasons by Vivaldi
Instrument: Violin, Viola, Cello

Artist Bio and Instrument Description

The Risus Quartet was founded in 2020 by four passionate musicians living in South Korea. ‘Risus’ means ‘laugh’ in Latin and the vision of the quartet is to bring joy and laughter to audiences around the globe. Members Haeni Lee, Jieun Yoo (violins), Mary Eunkyung Chang (viola),Yukyung Ma(cello) graduated from Seoul National University with a devotion to chamber music and now reside in the United States of America and continue to expand their artistry and dedicate themselves to a deeper exploration of the art of the string quartet.

First Prize winners of the 2022 Chamber Music In Yellow Springs Competition and Grand Prize and Gold Medal Prizewinners at the 2021 Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition, the Risus quartet is currently the Young Professional String Quartet in residence at the Butler School of Music at the University of Texas in Austin under the Miró Quartet and Sandy Yamamoto. Awarded “The City of Portsmouth Prize” in the 2022 Wigmore Hall International String Quartet Competition. They had concerts at the Seoul Arts Center Summer Music Festival, Recital in Lotte concert Hall, Jeju International Music Festival, Gum Nanse Music Center, The House Concert.

The Risus Quartet will perform the Vivaldi - Four Seasons
"Spring" (La primavera)
1. Allegro
2. Allegro pastorale

"Summer" (L'estate)
1. Allegro non molto
2. Adagio e piano - Presto e forte
3. Presto

"Autumn" (L'autunno)

"Winter" (L'inverno)
1. Allegro non molto
2. Lagro
3. Allegro